TOGAF® 9 Practitioner (Level 2)

Course Description

The TOGAF® 9 Practitioner (Level 2) course is a 3-day, interactive, classroom-based learning experience. The course focuses on the practical application of the TOGAF® 9 framework, building on the foundational knowledge and comprehension of Level 1, using practical scenarios to enforce concepts. The purpose of certification for Level 2, known as TOGAF® 9 Practitioner, is to provide validation that, in addition to the knowledge and comprehension of TOGAF 9 Foundation, the candidate is able to analyze and apply this knowledge. The learning objectives at this level focus on application and analysis, in addition to knowledge and comprehension.


  • Individuals who require a deeper understanding of TOGAF 9, e.g., System Integrators, Operational, Business and IT Developers, CIO’s and IT Managers, Program and Project Leaders, IT Specialists, Architects
  • Professionals who are working in an organization where TOGAF 9 has been adopted and who need to participate in architecture projects and initiatives
  • Architects who will be responsible for developing architecture artifacts
  • Architects who wish to introduce TOGAF 9 into an architecture practice
  • Architects who want to achieve a recognized qualification to demonstrate their detailed knowledge of TOGAF 9

Course Duration

3 Days

Learning Objectives

Individuals certified at this level will have demonstrated their understanding of:

  • How to apply the ADM phases in development of an enterprise architecture
  • How to apply Architecture Governance in development of an enterprise architecture
  • How to apply the TOGAF Architecture Content Framework
  • How to apply the concept of Building Blocks
  • How to apply the Stakeholder Management Technique
  • How to apply the TOGAF Content Metamodel
  • How to apply TOGAF recommended techniques when developing an enterprise architecture
  • The TOGAF Technical Reference Model and how to customize it to meet an organization’s needs
  • The Integrated Information Infrastructure Reference Model
  • The content of the key deliverables of the ADM cycle
  • How an enterprise architecture can be partitioned to meet the specific needs of an organization
  • The purpose of the Architecture Repository
  • How to apply iteration and different levels of architecture with the ADM
  • How to adapt the ADM for security
  • SOA as a style of architecture
  • The role of architecture maturity models in developing an enterprise architecture
  • The purpose of the Architecture Skills Framework and how to apply it within an organizationThe key deliverables of the ADM cycle
  • TOGAF reference models
  • The TOGAF certification program.

Course Logistics

  • Classroom — U-shaped setup preferred
  • Whiteboard, flipchart, and projector
  • Participants — maximum of 16

(In case of virtual course delivery: Virtual Classroom Software (provided by CClearning)


There are no formal prerequisites. However, it is recommended that participants have experience in the IT domain. Note, to be certified on TOGAF 9 Level 2, it is required to have passed the TOGAF Level 1 exam.

Course Material

Participants receive a copy of the classroom presentation material and the Student Handbook, which contains Reference Material.

About the Examination

The exam is in open-book format, and includes 8 complex multiple-choice scenario-based questions. The pass score is 60% (5 out of 8 questions). The duration of the exam is 90 minutes, exam vouchers are provided and the exam can be only be at Prometric test centers.

Course Agenda

  • Day 1
    • Module 1 Course Introduction
    • Module 2 The Architecture Development Method
    • Module 3 Adapting TOGAF to the Context
    • Module 4 Architecture Principles and Requirements
    • Module 5 Architecture Vision
    • Module 6 Stakeholder Management and Risk Management
    • Module 7 Security Architecture
  • Day 2
    • Module 8 Enterprise Integration and Service Oriented Architecture
    • Module 9 Enterprise Continuum and Architecture Repository
    • Module 10 Architecture Content Framework
    • Module 11 Business Architecture Phase
    • Module 12 Information Systems Architectures
    • Module 13 Technology Architecture
  • Day 3
    • Module 14 Transition Planning
    • Module 15 Building Organizational Capability
    • Module 16 Architecture Governance
    • Module 17 The Architect
    • Module 18 Exam Preparation Guide