TOGAF® 9 Foundation (Level 1)

Course Description

The TOGAF 9® Foundation (Level 1) course is a 2-day, interactive, classroom-based learning experience. The course covers the Foundation Level 1 curriculum and includes many examples of architecture deliverable and artifacts are provided throughout the course. The course enables participants to successfully complete the associated TOGAF Level 1 exam, known as TOGAF 9 Foundation. The certification provides validation that the candidate has gained knowledge of the terminology, structure, and basic concepts of TOGAF 9, and understands the core principles of Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF.


  • Individuals who require a basic understanding of TOGAF 9
  • Professionals who are working in roles associated with an architecture project such as those responsible for planning, execution, development, delivery, and operation
  • Architects who are looking for a first introduction to TOGAF 9
  • Architects who want to achieve Level 2 certification.

Course Duration

2 days

Learning Objectives:

Individuals certified at this level will have demonstrated their understanding of

  • The basic concepts of Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF
  • The core concepts of TOGAF 9
  • The key terminology of TOGAF 9
  • The ADM cycle and the objectives of each phase, and how to adapt and scope the ADM
  • The concept of the Enterprise Continuum; its purpose and constituent parts
  • How each of the ADM phases contributes to the success of enterprise architecture
  • The ADM guidelines and techniques
  • How Architecture Governance contributes to the Architecture Development Cycle
  • The concepts of views and viewpoints and their role in communicating with stakeholders
  • The concept of building blocks
  • The key deliverables of the ADM cycle
  • TOGAF reference models
  • The TOGAF certification program.


There are no formal prerequisites; it is recommended that participants have experience in the IT domain.

Course Material

Participants receive a copy of the classroom presentation material and the Student Handbook, which contains Reference Material.

About the Examination

  • Certification is only achieved by passing the examination
  • The exam is in closed-book format, and includes 40 multiple-choice questions. The pass score is 55% (22 out of 40 questions).
  • Duration of exam is 60 minutes
  • Exam vouchers are provided and the exam can only be taken at Prometric test centers.

Course Agenda

  • Day 1
    • Module 1 Course Introduction
    • Module 2 Enterprise Architecture – An Introduction
    • Module 3 TOGAF® 9 – An Introduction
    • Module 4 The Architecture Development Method
    • Module 5 Adapting TOGAF to the Context
    • Module 6 Architecture Principles and Requirements
  • Day 2
    • Module 6 Architecture Principles and Requirements
    • Module 7 Architecture Vision
    • Module 8 Risk Management
    • Module 9 Enterprise Integration
    • Module 10 Enterprise Continuum and Architecture Repository
    • Module 11 Architecture Patterns
    • Module 12 Architecture Content Framework
    • Module 13 Technology Architecture
    • Module 14 Building Organizational Capability
    • Module 15 Architecture Governance
    • Module 16 Exam Preparation Guide